livinlovin

Newest EntryOlder Entries Contact Me Diaryland

My Last 5 Diary Entries

Pet My Shoe - 2005-01-24
Be a Hater - 2005-01-05
lazy ass - 2004-12-30
Layta Teller Exceptions - 2004-11-10
Holla-ween - 2004-10-29

The Three People That Actually Read This

Wendy Rules the Ottoman Empire
HRT - Humility X
Sweet Pete

2004-07-22 - 10:04 p.m.

songs

Songs have always told the stories of my life. I love music. I need music. Not like the person you work with that keeps the light rock station on all day. I don�t use it as filler; I use it as a focus.

I like a wide variety of music, from Pearl Jam and Soundgarden to Boston, Jimmy Buffet, Billy Joel, Van Morrison,Train,Beastie Boys, anything from Les Miserables(spelling?),Ahh Led Zepplin, to Josh Groban. And hundreds of others I haven�t named.

When I hear songs now, they are snapshots. �These are the days� by Van Morrison, I am dancing at my wedding. But when I hear �brown-eyed girl I am 17 in a red Dodge colt. �The Rose� by Bette Midler, still 17 but I am at the funeral for one of my best friends from high school. Or it is six years later and I am at his parents� funeral.

�Bloodletting� by Concrete Blonde for every time I have ever been high. �Say Hello to Heaven� by Temple of the Dog for every time I�ve ever had an orgasm. �Black� by Pearl Jam for the first time I got my heart broken.

On September 11th the song that kept playing in my head the whole day was a song written by Shannon Hoon of Blind Melon called �change�. If you�ve ever heard it you�ll know what I mean. The first thing I did when I got home is put it on. And turn it up. (And that is no small thing we have a fucking kick ass stereo�Cerwin Vega speakers,a Harmon Kardon receiver and CD player, and what ever else you need to make your house explode). It was all I could do. It helped.

When I listen to �A pirate looks at forty� by Jimmy Buffett, I am on a boat off the Carolina coast, there are dolphins in the water, but on deck only me and Brian. And I am at peace.

I can�t think of a time that I can�t put to music and I can�t wait to see what some of my new songs will be. Songs are my photo albums, my journals; I will always have a song in my heart.

0 - Will the three people that actually read this please say something

in - out



read my profile read other diaries recommend my diary